HOME >> About ITC

Keynote Speakers

Simon Sze

Honorary Chair Professor
National Chiao Tung University


Dr. Simon M. Sze received his B. S. degree from the National Taiwan University, M. S. from the University of Washington, and Ph. D. from Stanford University, all in Electrical Engineering.

Dr. Sze was with Bell Telephone Laboratories from 1963 to 1989 as a member of the Technical Staff. He joined the National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) from 1990 to 2006 as a Distinguished Chair Professor. At present, he is an Honorary Chair Professor at NCTU. Dr. Sze has served as Visiting Professor to many academic institutions including the University of Cambridge, Delft University, Soochow University, Stanford University, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, and Tokyo Institute of Technology.

He has made fundamental and pioneering contributions to semiconductor devices, especially the metal-semiconductor contacts, microwave devices, and submicron MOSFET technology. Of particular importance is his discovery with Dr. D. Kahng of the floating-gate memory (FGM) effect which has subsequently given rise to a large family of memory devices including EPROM, EEPROM and Flash memory. FGM has enabled the development of all modern electronic systems such as the digital cellular phone, tablet computer, personal digital assistant, smart IC card, digital camera, digital television, portable DVD, MP3 music player, pacemaker, implantable defibrillator, global positioning system (GPS), and anti-lock braking system (ABS). In addition FGM-based solid-state drive has empowered the development of the digital achieving, cloud computing, internet of everything and big data.

Dr. Sze has authored or coauthored over three hundred technical papers. He has written and edited 16 books. His book “ Physics of Semiconductor Devices ” ( Wiley, 1969; 2nd Ed, 1981; 3rd Ed, with K.K. Ng, 2007 ) is one of the most cited works in contemporary engineering and applied science publications (over 40,000 citations according to Google Scholar). Dr. Sze has received the IEEE J. J. Ebers Award, the National Endowed Chair Professor Award, the Flash Memory Summit Lifetime Achievement Award, and the National Science and Technology Prize. He is a Life Fellow of IEEE, an Academician of the Academia Sinica, a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.


Positions held

  • Honorary Chair Professor, National Chiao Tung University (2006-present)
  • Distinguished Chair Professor, National Chiao Tung University (1990-2006)
  • Visiting Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology (2009)
  • Consulting Professor, Stanford University (2006)
  • Visiting Professor, Soochow University (2002)
  • Visiting Professor, Delft University (1991)
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Electron Device Letters (1986-1990)
  • Visiting Professor, Swiss Federal Institute of Tech. (1986)
  • Visiting Professor, Cambridge University (1985)
  • Associate Editor, Solid State Electronics (1980-1984)
  • Distinguished Chair Professor, National Taiwan University (1974-1977)
  • C.Y. Tung Chair Professor, National Chiao Tung University (1968-1969)
  • Member of Tech. Staff, Bell Telephone Laboratories (1963-1989)

Industrial & Academic Affiliations

  • Member of Tech. Staff, Bell Telephone Laboratories (1963-1989)
  • Consultant, National Nano-Device Laboratories, National Science Council (2004-present)
  • Technical Advisor, Industrial Technology Research Institute (1999-2008)
  • Director, National Nano-Device Laboratories, National Science Council (1998-2004)
  • Director, Microelectronic and Information Science Research Center, NCTU (1990-1996)
  • Consultant, National Science Council (1974-1978)
  • Consultant, Industrial Technology Research Institute (1974-1977)


Honors and Awards

  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Flash Memory Summit (2014)
  • JSAP Fellow International - The Japan Society of Applied Physics (2014)
  • ITRI Laureate, Industrial Technology Research Institute (2014)
  • Diamond Award for Distinguished Achievement in Academia, University of Washington (2014)
  • Keynote Speaker, International Symposium on Non-Volatile Memory, NCTU (2012)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Ministry of Economic Affairs, ROC. (2007)
  • Distinguished Alumnus of the National Taiwan University (2006)
  • Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Engineering (1998)
  • National Science and Technology Prize, ROC (1998)
  • National Endowed Chair Professor Award, Ministry of Education, ROC. (1996)
  • Member, US National Academy of Engineering (1995)
  • Keynote Speaker, 40th Anniversary of International Electron Devices Meeting, San Francisco (1994)
  • Academician, Academia Sinica (1994)
  • IEEE J.J. Ebers Award (1991)
  • IEEE Fellow (1977)
  • Member of Phi Tau Phi Scholastic Honor Society (1972)
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Award (1969)
  • Member of Sigma Xi Scholastic Honor Society (1960)